Genealogy: Trace Your Lineage Online

Here are some sites that will be valuable to amateur genealogists interested in crafting a family tree:

About.com Genealogy http://genealogy.about.com/mbody.htm

African-Native American History & Genealogy http://african-nativeamerican.com/
Source of information on Freedmen, Black Indian Slaves, tri-racial resources and other links.

American Immigrant Wall of Honor  http://www.wallofhonor.com/

Ancestry.com  http://landing.ancestry.com/LCF/HomeTCell4.aspx
Although this is a subscription site filled with ads, database searches are free, including the Social Security Death Index.

Balch Institute http://www.balchinstitute.org/
A great source for central European genealogy and history and covers an array of sources for immigration and ethnic studies.

Carpatho-Rusyn Knowledge Base http://www.carpatho-rusyn.org/

Christine's Genealogy Website (African American)  http://www.ccharity.com/

Commercial Enterprises for Genealogy http://www-personal.umich.edu/~cgaunt/commercial.html
A listing of companies that have materials for genealogy.

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet  http://www.cyndislist.com/
What an amazing site with an index of the URLs for more than 107,000 genealogy-related websites.  It’s a genealogy one stop shop!

Directory of Genealogy Libraries in the US http://www.gwest.org/gen_libs.htm

Ellis Island/American Family Immigration History Center  http://www.ellisisland.org/default.asp

Family Crest http://www.family-crests.com/

Family Finder at Genealogy.com  http://www.genealogy.com/allsearch.html

Family History.com http://www.familyhistory.com/
Designed for free genealogy content hosting and family research collaboration.

Family Search: Internet Genealogy Service  http://www.familysearch.org/
This website of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints features a searchable index of more than 2 million family histories.

Family Tree Maker  http://www.genealogy.com

Family Tree Searcher http://familytreesearcher.com/

Genealogy & Family History Databases http://www.genealogy.org/

Genealogical Research/National Archives  http://www.archives.gov/genealogy/index.html

Genealogy Search Advice http://www.genealogy-search-advice.com/

Genealogy Software Springboard http://home.tbbs.net/kbasile/
A useful listing of genealogical software.

Genforum  http://genforum.genealogy.com/
This free site enables people to post and search queries by surname.

GenSource http://www.gensource.com/

Obituary Daily Times http://www.rootsweb.com/~obituary/
Obituaries from newspapers all over the US and Canada.

Olive Tree Genealogy http://olivetreegenealogy.com/index.shtml
A good site for researchers because it focuses on ships' lists, military records, American and Canadian records, New Netherland, Huguenot, Palatine, Mennonite, Mohawk and Loyalist records.

Quaker Corner http://www.rootsweb.com/~quakers/

Slovak & Carpatho-Rusyn Genealogy Research Pages http://www.iarelative.com/slovakia.htm
A resource for queries and resource material on Slovak genealogy to help you find Slovak or Carpatho-Rusyn family history and ancestry.  Includes geographic information, maps and gazetteers, churches and religion, and census records.

Surname Heirlooms http://p097.ezboard.com/bfoundheirlooms

The USGenWeb Project  http://www.usgenweb.org/
Surname information is grouped by state, county and town.

 


Home | Who We Are | Courses | Directions | Registration | Reviews | Spotlight | Mailing List | Greatest Hits | Photos
This site was authored by:
Alysa Cummings
ETTC of Burlington